Who We Are

Meet the team of dedicated and deeply experienced staff, executives and advisors who organize our operations and shepherd our grant programs.

Foundation staff

Lynda Rossi, President

Lynda Rossi


Lynda Rossi serves as the president of the Foundation's board of directors. She is the Blue Cross Blue Shield of Michigan Executive Vice President of Strategy, Innovation & Public Affairs and helps shape the overall strategy and direction of the organization.   

Audrey Harvey, CEO

Audrey Harvey, LL.M, JD, MPH

Executive Director and CEO

Audrey Harvey joined Blue Cross Blue Shield of Michigan as a tax manager and served in many roles before becoming the Foundation's executive director and CEO. Harvey holds a juris doctor and a master's degree in taxation from Wayne State University. She has a master's degree in public health with a concentration in public health practice from the University of South Florida. Harvey is a member of the State Bar of Michigan, licensed to practice in Illinois. She is a certified public accountant and certified in public health. 

Elba Huerta Senior Analyst

Elba Huerta, MBA

Senior Analyst

Elba Huerta is responsible for the Foundation’s process improvement and accounts payable administration. She leads the monthly financial and accounting reporting. Huerta holds a bachelor’s degree in computer engineering with a specialty in software development from the Instituto Technological of Durango. She also holds a bachelor’s and a master’s degree in business administration from Walsh College. 

Susan Shelton Executive Assistant

Susan Shelton

Corporate Secretary

Susan Shelton is the executive assistant to the Foundation's executive director and CEO and serves as the corporate board secretary. Shelton joined the Foundation team in 2014. She also is the point person for planning, implementing and managing board activities.

Foundation Board of Directors

Shauna Diggs, MD
Shauna Ryder Diggs, MD, Chairwoman

Board-Certified Dermatologist, President and Founder, CosmedicDerm

Bruce Wolf, DO, Vice Chairman
Bruce A. Wolf, DO, Vice Chairman

Associate Dean, Macomb University Center, Michigan State University College of Osteopathic Medicine

Lynda Rossi, President
Lynda M. Rossi, President

Executive Vice President, Strategy, Innovation and Public Affairs Blue Cross Blue Shield of Michigan

James Grant, MD
James D. Grant, MD, MBA, FASA

Senior Vice President and Chief Medical Officer, Blue Cross Blue Shield of Michigan

Haifa Fakhouri, PhD
Haifa Fakhouri, PhD

President and Chief Executive Officer, Arab-American and Chaldean Council

James Haveman, Treasurer
James K. Haveman, Treasurer

Retired Director of Michigan Department of Community Health

Paul Hillegonds
Paul Hillegonds

Retired CEO, Michigan Health Endowment Fund

Grants Advisory Panel

Grant Advisory Panel members are essential to ensuring that BCBSM Foundation support is directed toward research of the highest quality, thus improving health care access, value and cost, in our quest to improve the health of Michiganders.

Faris K. Ahmad, MD, MBA, FACOG
Medical Director, Value Partnership Programs
Blue Cross Blue Shield of Michigan

Clifford L. Broman, PhD
Department of Sociology
Michigan State University

David Julius Brown, MD
Associate Vice President and Associate Dean for Health Equity and Inclusion, Associate Professor, Pediatric Otolaryngology, University of Michigan Medicine

Jade Burns, PhD, RN, CPNP-PC
Assistant Professor, School of Nursing, University of Michigan

Cleopatra Howard Caldwell, PhD
Professor and Chair, Department of Health Behavior & Health Education, School of Public Health, University of Michigan

Bhavin Dalal, MD
Associate Professor, Vice Chief, Division of Pulmonary Critical Care Sleep Medicine, Associate Program Director, Pulmonary Critical Care Fellowship, Corewell Health, Oakland University William Beaumont School of Medicine

Jessica D. Faul, PhD
Associate Research Professor, Co-Director, Institute for Social Research Biospecimen Lab, University of Michigan

Gary L. Freed, MD, MPH
Percy and Mary Murphy Professor of Pediatrics, School of Medicine, University of Michigan

Megan C. Frost, PhD
Professor and Department Chair, Kinesiology and Integrative Physiology, Michigan Technological University

Charles Given, PhD
Professor Emeritus, College of Nursing, Michigan State University

John Goddeeris, PhD
Professor, Department of Economics, Michigan State University

Allen Goodman, PhD
Professor Emeritus, Department of  Economics, Wayne State University

Robert Goodman, DO, MHSA, FACEP, FACOEP
Consultant, Blue Cross Blue Shield of Michigan

Gerod S. Hall, PhD, MPH
Senior Statistician, Blue Cross Blue Shield of Michigan

Androni Henry, MD, MMM, FAAEM, FACEP
Senior Medical Director and Associate Chief Medical Officer Care Delivery Experience and Health Equity, Blue Cross Blue Shield of Michigan

Denise Soltow Hershey, PhD, RN, FNP-BC, FAANP
Associate Professor, College of Nursing, Michigan State University

Kenneth A. Jamerson, MD, FASH
Professor, Internal Medicine, Frederick G.L. Huetwell Collegiate Professor of Cardiovascular Medicine, University of Michigan Medicine

Jersey Liang, PhD
Professor, Department of Health Management & Policy, School of Public Health, University of Michigan

Rob Lyerla, PhD, MGIS
Professor, Western Michigan University

Nora Maloy, DrPH, MHSA
Adjunct Clinical Instructor, Department of Global Reach, University of Michigan Medical School

Milisa Manojlovich, PhD, RN, FAAN
Professor, School of Nursing, University of Michigan

Laurence McMahon, MD, MPH
Professor Emeritus, Department of Internal Medicine, University of Michigan

Sharon Milberger, ScD
Director, Michigan Developmental Disabilities Institute, Wayne State University

Jae A. Puckett, PhD
Assistant Professor, Department of Psychology, Michigan State University

Neli Ragina, PhD, MSc
Associate Professor, Director, Students and Residents Clinical Research, College of Medicine, Central Michigan University

Phillip Rodgers, MD
Professor, Department of Family Medicine, University of Michigan

Sanjay Saint, MD, MPH
Chief of Medicine, VA Ann Arbor Healthcare System, George Dock Professor, University of Michigan

Michael Simon, MD, MPH
Professor, Karmanos Cancer Institute, Wayne State University

Herbert Smitherman, Jr., MD
Vice Dean of Diversity and Community Affairs, Associate Professor, Internal Medicine, School of Medicine, Wayne State University, President and CEO, Health Centers Detroit Foundation

Miron Stano, PhD
Professor Emeritus, School of Business Administration, Oakland University

Carmen Stokes, PhD, RN, FNP-BC, CNE
Nurse Navigator, SM Gavini Center for Cancer Prevention, Ascension Health

Ira Strumwasser, PhD
Executive Director & CEO (Retired), BCBSM Foundation

Marianne Udow-Phillips, MHSA
Principal, MuConsulting, Instructor, University of Michigan School of Public Health

Ksenia I. Ustinova, PhD
Professor, School of Rehabilitation and Medical Sciences, Central Michigan University

Gina Lynem-Walker, MD
Associate Medical Director, Blue Cross Blue Shield of Michigan

Lori J. Warner, Ph.D., LP, BCBA-D                                                                Licensed Psychologist, Board Certified Behavior Analyst, Lori J. Warner Ph.D., PLLC


Please check the FAQs in our help section. If you don't see what you're looking for, email us your question and a member of our team will respond.

Mailing Address
BCBSM Foundation | Mail Code X101 | 600 E. Lafayette Blvd. | Detroit, MI | 48226-2998